Winnipeg Branch

Phone: +1(204) 996-3422

About the Winnipeg Branch

The Winnipeg Branch was originally formed in 1928 as a Branch of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs (CIIA), from three local groups known as the Canadian League. The Winnipeg Branch, the largest of the original 1928 branches, was one of the most active branches during the 1930s. In 1935, the Winnipeg Branch began sponsoring popular radio broadcasts on international affairs. John W. Dafoe, editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, contributed greatly to the growth and success of the Branch, first as vice-president and later president of the CIIA.

In 2008, a group of individuals associated with Winnipeg’s business, media, academic and military constituencies came together to reestablish the Winnipeg Branch at a General Meeting of local CIC members. The Winnipeg Branch was the first Branch created under the auspices of the Canadian International Council (CIC), on 19 November 2008.

The Winnipeg Branch delivers an annual Speakers Program between September and June. Most CIC events in Winnipeg are free to the public, while CIC members enjoy exclusive access to the speakers.

The Winnipeg Branch endeavours to showcase local speakers, and occasionally invites external speakers, to engage Manitobans in discussions about issues related to Canadian foreign policy. Speakers include academics, professionals, advocates and politicians. Branch events range from individual speakers to multi-speaker panels and multi-panel conferences. To show our appreciation, we host our speakers for dinner and offer a modest donation to the charity of their choice.

The Winnipeg Branch also sponsors local conferences, including the J. W. Dafoe Political Studies Student Conference and the Peace and Conflict Studies Student Association Conference, both at the University of Manitoba.

Branch Executive Leadership


Robert Nash


Brad Kirbyson


Stephen Lunn

Past President

Nicholas Hirst

Program Chair

Ashley Haller

Communications Chair

Jason Quinn

Mentorship Chair

Nick Slonosky

Fundraising Chair


University Faculty Advisor

Bryce Offenburger (University of Manitoba)

University Faculty Advisor

Kristi Kenyon (University of Winnipeg)

University Faculty Advisor

Jonathan Sears (Canadian Mennonite University)

University Faculty Advisor

Mamadou Ka (Université de Saint-Boniface)

University Student Representative

Kieran Cucina (University of Manitoba)

University Student Representative

Vacant (University of Winnipeg)

University Student Representative

Vacant (Canadian Mennonite University)

University Student Representative

Helen Martin (Université de Saint-Boniface)


No event found!

Featured Past Events

Willful Blindness: How A Criminal Network Of Narcos, Tycoons And CCP Agents Infiltrated The West – An Evening With Sam Cooper June 24, 2021


Support the CIC